WOODY’S WORDS

Welcome to WOODY’S WORDS where I am Exploring where I’ve been, my passions, and where I’m going. Come along for the ride.

Hopefully I will be giving you an idea of how I show up in the world and how we might work together to make a world that works for all people.

In this blog, I’ll be using MY WORDS to express how I feel about deaf-friendly housing, the life lessons I’ve learned, building a dream, and my observations on the go. I go a lot. 😉

Words have fascinating power over me. I see them, hear them, feel them in the core of my being. I own a large library and it includes everything from “Trading for Dummies” to “The Autobiography of a Yogi”. I’ve been having a love affair with words since I was four years old. That’s when my mom, the schoolteacher, taught me how to read. I quickly took on another lover when I also started playing the piano at age four. I immediately began combining my two loves and started singing. These words, this music, the singing have saved my life. They brought magnificent joy to my happy days and peace to my darkest moments.

One of those moments was sitting in the hospital holding my young son after being told that yes he would live (the meningitus coma released its grip) but he would not be able to hear me tell him that I loved him. He was now deaf. Words could not describe the pain and agony my husband and I felt in those moments. Our precious baby was now living in a world that we struggled to comprehend.

Fighter that he is, my son Changa didn’t know that he was “disabled”. I taught him that he could be, do and have anything he wanted in life because he has a right to be here and he deserves the best life has to offer. I think he believes it.

Now he’s a young man making his own way in the world. Part of that journey involved leaving home and in our search for a safe place to live, we discovered that no one was focused on safe, affordable, deaf-friendly housing. So in 2003, we formed CHANGA, Collective Housing and New Growth Alternatives with a mission to educate landlords, developers, and government agencies to eventually provide housing.

In the coming months, I will share my ideas about deaf-friendly housing and hopefully you will share some of your ideas with me. As we work to build this dream, I see you sharing your insights and passions with us.

I’d like to thank you for visiting our website and this blog as we explain deaf-friendly housing, it’s importance and how we can all get involved in creating safe, affordable housing.

Light and Love,

Janice

 

Leave a Reply

